Low Fat Beef Soup smothered in Parmesan

Soups on! It’s January in Buffalo and the only thing we Buffalonians like to do at this time of the year is cook. Unless of course it is 50 degrees outside like it was today. Then first, we get the car washed (yes every single person in Buffalo at the exact same time that I decide to) Then we take the dog to the beach to help us comb for driftwood, and to bark at people while waiting in the car for me while I run into home depot. Then, we cook.

This right here is my favorite thing in the world to make and to eat. This recipe may get me disowned. It is my mothers beef soup recipe. It is actually nothing out of the ordinary as recipes go, but omg is it delicious. The key, for me anyway, is dumping mounds of shredded Parmesan over it once it is in your bowl! If you love Parmesan this soup is for you. The real key to making this low fat is DO NOT STIR it, ever! I know how hard that is especially if you have people back and forth smelling it. Hide the ladle lol. 😉

Ingredients:IMG_20160131_150600

  • 3 – 2 inch or so beef marrow bones
  • 2 lbs of stew beef
  • 1 lb carrots
  • 1 lb celery
  • 1/2 of a cooking onion
  • 2 – 16 oz cans of stewed tomatoes
  • 1 and 2/3 rds cups of acini de pepe noodles
  • shredded Parmesan cheese

In a 6 quart pot fill to 2/3 rds full with tap water. Put on the stove to boil, it will take a while. While this is heating; peel and cut carrots, and cut celery and onion to bite size pieces. I cut them pretty thin because I like my veggies soft.  Toss this all in a strainer and give it a good rinse. Open your cans of stewed tomatoes.

Once pot gets to a rolling boil add meat (seperate it as you add it so it doesn’t stick in a clump because you won’t be stirring!) and bones and boil again. Remember do not stir! As the meat and bone heat the fat will rise to the top. Skim it off with a large spoon and into an old spaghetti jar. It will look like this. See the heart? Yours may or may not ❤ you. 🙂

DSC01895

Keep skimming until it boils to remove all that unhealthy garbage. Once this boils add your strainer of veggies and your 2 cans of stewed tomatoes. I season this with some italian seasonings and add extra basil and a bit of oregano, some black pepper and a pinch of cayenne. I turn the burner to low (AND DO NOT STIR! LOL) and enjoy the aroma and the agitated dog waiting for his bone for the rest of the day. I cook this until it reduces to it’s original 2/3 rds of a pot. On low it usually cooks for about 8 to 10 hours and the broth holds together well and everything melts in your mouth! After it reduces I cover it and toss it in the fridge to cool overnight. This hardens more of the fat, and you can skim that off too.

After a night in the fridge I skim the hardened fat one more time with a spoon and dump the liquid into a 4 quart pan through a strainer to catch any other fat.

IMG_20160131_144015

Once I got the liquid in a 4 quart pan I go through the pot and remove the undesirables. For me it is the bones obviously. I tease the dog with one and let it cool for his treat for later. I also remove the stewed tomatoes because I’m not a big fan of them, they have done their job. Once all that is out I add the rest to the 4 quart pan and boil it one more time. Once it boils I add 1 and 2/3 rds cups of acini de pepe noodles and cook until they are a little past el dente. Ladle yourself a generous helping because it will save you trips because you will eat more than one bowl, trust me. Add a bunch of Parmesan cheese and viola, masterpiece. I usually make some dinner rolls and a nice fresh salad to eat with this.

IMG_20160131_154401

That my friends is not p4th3tic food. Food for the soul! Enjoy and let me know if you try this, how it turns out, and if you liked it! Peace, Love, and Hot Soup ❤ ~ p4th3tic

 

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

