The dog days of… winter?

I decided last weekend after working way too many weekends in a row that I was going to take this one off. I had originally planned a trip to North Carolina for this weekend, but had to postpone that for a bit. I decided I needed a nature reset so I planned a trip out to Dansville to visit Sugar Creek and Stony Brook for a mid winter hike (that may or may not have been trespassing). I wanted to take the dog this time because he has been such a good boy these past few weeks as I worked like a ‘dog’. 😉 Sadly, a couple of days ago, he hurt his knee yet again slipping on some ice. I had researched these hikes a bit and one was classified ‘strenuous’. Probably a bad idea for a dog with a gimpy leg. I thought about leaving him home to rest it, but I really wanted some company and had promised him. (yes he listens to and understands every word I say) I decided we would go back to Taughannock Falls that I visited earlier this fall. The hike was very flat, and not very long. The ride was very pretty and long, so we could spend some time together driving and stopping to pee lol.

I went out to the truck about 5 am to a light snow falling, but pretty mild temps for late January in Buffalo, and emptied it of the haul of driftwood that I had gotten the day before, save for one piece I left for tank to chew into sawdust on our ride. I put Tank’s camo sweater on, laid out his blanket in the truck, made sure I had my camera, fresh batteries, and some drinks for us. I opened the gate and in a red brindle flash old gimpy jumped in that truck like a puppy with brand new legs. I closed the hatch and got in and Tank was paying homage to his brother Marley by sniffing his old collar that now rides with us on our rear view mirror wherever we go. Off we went on our 2 and a half hour journey in our Journey. Here is the rest in pictures. He loved it!

It definitely was a different landscape than when I was there a couple of months prior. Not a fisherman in sight this time.

DSC01873

Our nice flat and easy path.

DSC01874

A truly beautiful waterfall. Definitely my favorite one that I have visited recently, and well worth seeing it in it’s winter coat! The energy in this spot is amazing.

DSC01876

DSC01883

DSC01881

Tank needs a selfie stick? 😉

DSC01877

DSC01878

Quick take the pic so I can check it out!

IMG_20160129_092601

Can’t resist…

IMG_20160129_092604

…The urge. 🙂 ❤

IMG_20160129_092610

Okay one good pic then let’s check it out okay?

IMG_20160129_092615

You’re right Tank, how lucky we are…

DSC01879

…To have each other. ❤

0129160923

IMG_20160129_092440

A quick stop at Buttermilk Falls before heading home…

DSC01885

And of course the bad ass art stop for the day. This is a tree carved and painted. Pretty spectacular!

DSC01886

Peace, love, and light ❤ ~p4th3tic

 

 

Leave a Reply

